Enter your keyword



The Holy Family Welfare Society was established in 1960. Membership is open to parents or legally appointed guardians of the students, past students and members of the teaching staff. The affairs and business of the Society is controlled and administered by a Committee of Management elected at the Annual General Meeting of the Society. The Committee of Management also includes two appointed members representing the Archbishop, and two representatives each from the Past Pupils Association and the Parent Teacher Association of the School. The Committee of Management works in close cooperation with all stakeholders for the development of the school.
To effectively administer its functions, the Committee of Management works through sub committees which meet regularly addressing the specific needs of the School.


In the year 1960 under the Schools Take Over Act, Holy Family Convent Bambalapitiya opted to ‘go private.’ However since the Act required all private schools to be “Non-fee Levying” the school had to come up with ways and means of raising funds to carry on its work. The idea of a Welfare Society for the School was mooted by the Irish Reverend Mothers, (as they were then called) the parents and the past pupils who, with this end in view formed a Welfare Society. The inaugural meeting of the “ Welfare Society” was held on the 18th of November 1960 at which an Executive Committee was elected and a Board of Trustees appointed to manage the financial affairs of the school.

Welfare Committee Members – 2022/23
PRESIDENT Mr. Thurairajah Thivakaran
VICE PRESIDENT Mr Sohan D S Fernando
PAST PRESIDENT Mrs.Manuri Peiris
SECRETARY Mrs Shihara Wimalaratne
ASST.SECRETARY Mr Mark Dayan Fernando
TREASURER Mr Aubrey Bernard D Saverimuttu
ASSISTANT TREASURER Mr.Cedric D.Wijegunawardene
ASSISTANT TREASURER Mr.Cedric D.Wijegunawardene